6 days in Nigeria- Destiny Deyonne Davis


When I started my MBA program in July 2018, Funke and I met some really cool kids, and one of them was Destiny Davis, a lady from Dallas, Texas. Since we Nigerians know how to show ourselves, Destiny took a liking to us and she quickly became “one of us”.  In no time, we convinced her and she agreed to visit the almighty Nigeria (and Africa)- you know the one continent that the US president and some foreigners call a shit hole, but we call the best place. Shortly after buying her ticket, I asked her to write about her expectations.

On that note, please meet Destiny Davis:

Planning a trip to Nigeria in less than a month? That’s not usually something people do right?

Well, that’s been my life for the past month. And in less than 1 week, I will be traveling to Africa or what we know as the “Motherland”, to the beautiful country of Nigeria.

Amongst many other places, Africa has always been a place where I have desired to visit. From the beautiful skies, notable culture, and beautiful people, Africa has won the hearts of many. And I’ve desired to be next. I always thought it would be after I was done with graduate school. Possibly when there was a break? But it wasn’t until I met my new-found business school family, that I would quickly be going abroad to Africa this year.

Just in being welcomed by my new family, from the random game nights/adventures to celebrating the wedding of “CallHerAmodu” in Atlanta, they have quickly become family. And I know that they will treat me as royalty and show me nothing but the best on this trip.

So what am I expecting?

How could I not start with the food? I have heard that Nigeria has some of the best cuisine, and who would I be to not try it all?! From the fresh fish that is cooked before my eyes to a wide range fresh fruit, puff puff, or assortment of rice and soups?Better believe I’m preparing my stomach now.

Also, I think I’m truly ready for the fashion. I’m not sure if you’ve noticed, but when I say Nigerians dress. Nigerians DRESS. I am ready to be immersed in their history and culture and understand how that is translated into the clothes they wear.

Honestly, I’m excited to see beautiful faces of Lagos as well. Being able to visit a country that looks exactly like me is a feeling that I don’t think words can describe. The beauty of black skin is unmatched and Africa is the mecca. I know this experience will open my eyes and allow for a diverse perspective that hopefully continues to change my outlook on life.

Now I’d be lying if I didn’t say that everyone thinks I’m coming back to the states with a Prince… We will just have to see about that.

 I have heard that December in Lagos is a movie, so I will be sure to bring my camera along. So make sure to stay tuned to my journey through the beautiful island of Lagos, Nigeria via Instagram and Twitter.

Talk to you all soon.

Destiny DeYonne

To read on the actual trip, visit her page or The Wakabout

Blog: https://www.destinydeyonne.com/writings/

Instagram: @__destinydeyonne/

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑